Skip to content

Sens. Cruz, Johnson, Lee Lead Colleagues in Submitting Public Comment on Biden’s Proposed Open Border Regulation

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Sens. Ted Cruz (R-Texas), member of the Senate Judiciary Committee, Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), Mike Lee (R-Utah), and 64 of their Republican colleagues submitted public comment to President Biden’s proposed rule that would illegally upend the process by which the U.S. government hears asylum claims.

This rule, if finalized, would lead to the dispersion of potentially hundreds of thousands of illegal aliens into the interior each year in violation of federal law, limit the ability of immigration courts to hear asylum claims, serve as a massive pull factor for future illegal immigration, and fulfill a Biden campaign promise of open borders.  The proposed rule further augments the unprecedented surge in illegal crossings at our southern border and President Biden and his administration’s failure to address the crisis it created when they dismantled the previous administration’s successful border security policies.

In the public comment, the members wrote:

“The proposed rule represents a blatant violation of the laws passed by Congress. It ignores the mandatory detention requirements of aliens claiming asylum through mass parole, violates the principles of separation of powers, and inappropriately shifts the roles of asylum screeners and immigration courts.”


“In a year when we have seen record apprehensions at the Southwest border, the proposed rule would serve as yet another pull factor for illegal migration, while failing to advance the interests of the American people.  Accordingly, we consider the proposed rule to be illegal and unconstitutional.  We strongly oppose the proposed rule and urge the Departments to work with Congress to make any changes to the immigration process through legislation.”  

Senate co-signers include Sens. John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), Josh Hawley (R-Mo.), John Kennedy (R-La.), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.), Roger Marshall (R-Kan.), Jerry Moran (R-Kan.), Rand Paul (R-Ky.), Ben Sasse (R-Neb.), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), John Thune (R-S.D.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Tommy Tuberville (R-Ala.), and Roger Wicker (R-Miss.). 

House co-signers include Reps. Andy Biggs (R-Ariz.), Rick Allen (R-Ga.), Jodey Arrington (R-Texas), Brian Babin (R-Texas), Jim Baird (R-Ind.), Dan Bishop (R-N.C.), Jack Bergman (R-Mich.),  Lauren Boebert (R-Colo.), Mo Brooks (R-Ala.), Ted Budd (R-N.C.), Ken Calvert (R-Calif.), John R. Carter (R-Texas), Madison Cawthorn (R-N.C.), Ben Cline (R-Va.), Michael Cloud (R-Texas), Andrew Clyde (R-Ga.), Rick Crawford (R-Ark.), Jeff Duncan (R-S.C.), Louie Gohmert (R-Tex.), Bob Good (R-Va.), Paul Gosar (R-Ariz.), Marjorie Taylor Greene (R-Ga.), Glenn Grothman (R-Wis.), Andy Harris (R-Md.), Yvette Herrell (R-N.M.), Jody Hice (R-Ga.), Doug LaMalfa (R-Calif.), Debbie Lesko (R-Ariz.), Tracey Mann (R-Kan.), Brian Mast (R-Fla.), Tom McClintock (R-Calif.), Mary Miller (R-Ill.), Barry Moore (R-Ala.), Ralph Norman (R-S.C.), Scott Perry (R-Pa.), Bill Posey (R-Fla.), Matthew Rosendale (R-Mont.), Chip Roy (R-Texas), Pete Sessions (R-Texas), Victoria Spartz (R-Ind.), W. Gregory Steube (R-Fla.), Van Taylor (R-Texas), Tom Tiffany (R-Wis.), Ann Wagner (R-Mo.) Randy Weber (R-Texas), and Steve Womack (R-Ark.).      

Read the full text here.