Skip to content

Sen. Cruz Introduces Legislation to Reimpose Terrorism Sanctions on the FARC

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, U.S. Senator Ted Cruz introduced a bill to reimpose terrorism sanctions on the Revolutionary Armed Forces of Colombia (FARC). The bill re-designates the FARC as a Foreign Terrorist Organization and a Specially Designated Global Terrorist. The bill is co-sponsored by Senator Marco Rubio (R-FL).

After introducing the bill, Sen. Cruz said:

“The Biden Administration’s reckless decision to dismantle terrorism sanctions on the FARC has already created catastrophes. It fueled leftwing movements throughout the Western Hemisphere but especially in Colombia, contributing to the momentum that brought a hard-left anti-American government to power. The FARC is responsible for some of the most heinous acts of terror in the western hemisphere, and this decision gave up a key tool through which the U.S. was holding FARC terrorists accountable. My bill will begin to repair the damage of this decision.”

After introduction, Senator Rubio stated:

“For decades, the Colombian people have been innocent targets of the FARC’s terrorist attacks. The Biden Administration’s decision to delist this guerilla group as a Foreign Terrorist organization, not only failed the Colombian-American community but also set back our region’s security. This bill will also ensure the State Department submits a report on seven individuals’ ties to the FARC, including Sandra Ramirez Lobo Silva and Piedad Cordoba. Since Cordoba’s ties to the FARC are well known, she can expect to be subject to U.S. sanctions if it is enacted.”

Sen. Cruz’s bill imposes terrorism sanctions on the FARC as a group as well as on 7 individuals affiliated with the group. Five of these individuals were recently summoned by the Special Jurisdiction for Peace for their involvement in the trafficking and forced recruitment of children.


The seven individuals are:

  1. Jose Benito Cabrera Cuevas (Alias Fabián Ramirez)
  2. Erasmo Traslavina Benavides (Alias Jimmy Guerrero)
  3.  Emiro Ropero (Alias Ruben Zamora)
  4. Guillermo Enrique Torres Cueter (Alias Julián Conrado)
  5.  Rodrigo Granda (Alias Gallopinto)
  6. Piedad Córdoba
  7. Sandra Ramirez Lobo Silva (Alias Griselda Lobo)



Related Issues

  1. National Security