Skip to Content

Sen. Cruz, Colleagues Introduce Bipartisan Resolution Rejecting Upcoming Sham Legislative Elections in Venezuela

February 10, 2021



WASHINGTON, D.C. - U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz (R-Texas), member of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee, this week joined Sens. Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Bob Menendez (D-N.J.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), and Ben Cardin (D-Md.) in introducing a bipartisan resolution condemning last year's fraudulent legislative elections by the Maduro regime. The resolution also denounces the lack of free, fair, and transparent elections in Venezuela, as well as the continued erosion of the nation's democracy and the rule of law. The resolution highlights the continued recognition of Interim President Juan Guaidó as Venezuela's leader in the absence of a democratically elected president in the nation and reiterates the lack of legitimacy of the Maduro regime's National Constituent Assembly.

Upon introduction of this bipartisan resolution, Sen. Cruz said:

"The National Assembly is the legitimate democratic institution in Venezuela. Nicolás Maduro's attempts to circumvent it is a direct attack against Venezuela's democracy. I am proud to join my colleagues in support of the Venezuelans fighting for freedom and democracy."

Sen. Rubio said:

"No one should be fooled: Maduro's objective through these so-called legislative elections is to silence the voices of the members of the democratically-elected National Assembly. Following Maduro's selection of an illegitimate alternative to the National Assembly, and his track record of holding fraudulent elections, the international community must join together in condemning this sham process and support the Venezuelan people."

Sen. Menendez said:

"As the Maduro regime seeks to maintain its grip on power by going after Venezuela's last surviving democratic institution, this resolution sends a clear bipartisan message rejecting this latest effort to make a mockery of Venezuela's decimated democracy. The world does not need further proof that Venezuelans are desperate for fundamental change away from the Maduro regime and its destruction of their nation. Having already caused the worst humanitarian crisis in our hemisphere, Maduro's reliance on deceit, repression, and crimes against humanity is only exacerbating Venezuelans' suffering."

Sen. Durbin said:

"Two years after a discredited election, Maduro is pushing yet another fraudulent election try to dismantle the National Assembly, one of Venezuela's last legitimate democratic institutions. Amid a pandemic and heartbreaking Venezuelan refugee crisis, we cannot allow Maduro to further push Venezuela into the abyss with another sham vote. I'm proud to stand with my colleagues, interim President Juan Guaidó, and the Venezuelan people in calling for legitimate presidential and legislative elections to build the democratic and prosperous country that Venezuelans deserve."

Sen. Scott said:

"As we continue to fight for free and fair elections in Latin America and around the world, we must recognize Maduro's sham election as a pathetic attempt by the regime to create the false appearance of democracy. This is nothing more than a stunt designed to further oppress the Venezuelan people. The United States, and freedom-loving countries around the world, must denounce Maduro's desperate attempts to cling power, and continue to stand with the people of Venezuela."

Sen. Cardin added:

"The Venezuelan people deserve transparent, free and fair elections, and we must continue to work with our international allies to support the return of legitimate democracy in Venezuela. As Venezuela experiences one of the worst humanitarian crises in the world, we must support efforts to facilitate access for humanitarian organizations, urge for the release of political prisoners, and call for the end of arbitrary detentions and violence against political opponents and those fighting for civil and human rights."

Read the full text of the resolution here.



Central TX

(512) 916-5834
300 E 8th
Suite 961
Austin, TX 78701


North TX

(214) 599-8749
Lee Park Tower II
3626 N. Hall St.
Suite 410
Dallas, TX 75219

Southeast TX

(713) 718-3057
The Mickey Leland Federal Building
1919 Smith Street
Suite 9047
Houston, TX 77002


South/Cen. TX

(210) 340-2885
9901 IH-10W
Suite 950
San Antonio, TX 78230

East TX

(903) 593-5130
305 S. Broadway
Suite 501
Tyler, TX 75702

South TX

(956) 686-7339
200 S. 10th St
Suite 1603
McAllen, TX 78501

West TX


Washington, D.C.

(202) 224-5922
127A Russell
Washington, DC 20510

Generated in 0.277 seconds.