Skip to Content

Final NDAA 2020 Includes Sens. Cruz, Shaheen Bill to Stop Russia’s Nord Stream 2 Pipeline

December 9, 2019



WASHINGTON, D.C. - Tonight, the Senate and House Armed Services Committees released the conference report for the National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA) for Fiscal Year 2020, which includes U.S. Sens. Ted Cruz (R-Texas) and Jeanne Shaheen's (D-N.H.) bipartisan bill imposing devastating, targeted sanctions on those involved in installing Russia's Nord Stream 2. If completed, this natural gas pipeline would vastly strengthen President Vladimir Putin at the expense of the rest of the free world. The House and Senate are expected to vote on the NDAA later this month.

"Including my legislation with Sen. Shaheen in the NDAA highlights the bipartisan, bicameral consensus in Congress and throughout the government that the U.S. must stop Russia's Nord Stream 2," Sen. Cruz said. "In the coming days, Congress will pass and the president will sign into law targeted sanctions that will do exactly that, specifically penalizing the companies involved in installing the pipeline. In doing so, we will have protected Europe's energy security and prevented Putin from leveraging billions of dollars that could be used to fuel Russian aggression. I appreciate Sen. Shaheen's leadership on this issue, and I will be working with my fellow lawmakers, and with Secretaries Pompeo and Mnuchin, to make sure these sanctions are fully implemented and any violators are tracked and duly designated."

"This provision sends an unmistakable, bipartisan message from Congress to Vladimir Putin that the United States will not sit idly by while the Kremlin seeks to further spread its malign influence," Sen. Shaheen said. "The Nord Stream 2 project threatens Ukraine, Europe's energy independence and gives Russia an opening to exploit our allies. I appreciate Senator Cruz's partnership in advancing legislation that will impose highly-targeted sanctions on the pipe-laying ships involved in Russia's Nord Stream 2 project. I urge Congress to pass this legislation as soon as possible and reaffirm the importance of our European alliances."

The Protecting Europe's Energy Security Act of 2019 (S. 1441) is cosponsored by Sens. John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), and Cory Gardner (R-Colo.). The bill passed the Senate Foreign Relations Committee in November with an overwhelming majority, and would impose devastating, targeted sanctions on vessels that Russian President Vladimir Putin needs to complete the pipeline.




Central TX

(512) 916-5834
300 E 8th
Suite 961
Austin, TX 78701


North TX

(214) 599-8749
Lee Park Tower II
3626 N. Hall St.
Suite 410
Dallas, TX 75219

Southeast TX

(713) 718-3057
The Mickey Leland Federal Building
1919 Smith Street
Suite 9047
Houston, TX 77002


South/Cen. TX

(210) 340-2885
9901 IH-10W
Suite 950
San Antonio, TX 78230

East TX

(903) 593-5130
305 S. Broadway
Suite 501
Tyler, TX 75702

South TX

(956) 686-7339
200 S. 10th St
Suite 1603
McAllen, TX 78501

West TX


Washington, D.C.

(202) 224-5922
127A Russell
Washington, DC 20510

Generated in 0.154 seconds.