Skip to Content

Cruz-Durbin Sudan Resolution Passes Senate

Bipartisan resolution encourages peaceful transition to civilian-led power in Sudan

July 10, 2019



WASHINGTON, D.C. - U.S. Sens. Ted Cruz (R-Texas) and Dick Durbin (D-Ill.) issued the following statements following the Senate's passage of S. Res. 188, a resolution to encourage a swift transfer of power by the military to a civilian-led political authority in Sudan.

"I am grateful to my colleagues in the Senate for passing this bipartisan measure in support of the Sudanese people," Sen. Cruz said. "Sudan is facing an inflection point. After 30 years, President al-Bashir's brutal reign came to an end, and the people of Sudan are pursuing a peaceful transition of power to a civilian-led government, which would ultimately reflect their aspirations. As negotiations advance between the military and opposition, the protection of human rights and freedom of expression should be underscored, and the process of holding violators accountable must begin. In the meantime we should ensure that Sudan's rulers remain accountable for malign behavior, and we must not move toward normalizing relations or removing Sudan from the State Sponsors of Terrorism list until such behavior ends."

"In 2010, I visited Sudan and what later became the independent nation of South Sudan to discuss the country's troubling violence," said Durbin. "That the Sudanese people have finally had enough of Omar al-Bashir's tyrannical rule is understandable and they deserve U.S. and international support in undertaking a credible democratic transition. Passage of our bipartisan resolution shows that the U.S. Senate stands with the Sudanese people in this fight for democracy."

S. Res. 188, led by Sens. Cruz and Durbin, is cosponsored by Chairman James Risch (R-Idaho), Sens. Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Johnny Isakson (R-Ga.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Kamala Harris (D-Calif.), Todd Young (R-Ind.), Chris Coons (D-Del.), Pat Roberts (R-Kan.), Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Josh Hawley (R-Mo.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), Tina Smith (D-Minn.), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wisc.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Rob Wyden (D-Ore.), Mark Warner (D-Va.), Mike Crapo (R-Id), and Edward Markey (D-Ma.).




Central TX

(512) 916-5834
300 E 8th
Suite 961
Austin, TX 78701


North TX

(214) 599-8749
Lee Park Tower II
3626 N. Hall St.
Suite 410
Dallas, TX 75219

Southeast TX

(713) 718-3057
The Mickey Leland Federal Building
1919 Smith Street
Suite 9047
Houston, TX 77002


South/Cen. TX

(210) 340-2885
9901 IH-10W
Suite 950
San Antonio, TX 78230

East TX

(903) 593-5130
305 S. Broadway
Suite 501
Tyler, TX 75702

South TX

(956) 686-7339
200 S. 10th St
Suite 1603
McAllen, TX 78501

West TX


Washington, D.C.

(202) 224-5922
127A Russell
Washington, DC 20510

Generated in 0.164 seconds.