Skip to Content

Senate Foreign Relations Committee Passes Cruz-Durbin Resolution Calling for Peaceful Transition in Sudan

Bipartisan resolution advances to Senate floor

May 24, 2019



WASHINGTON, D.C. - U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz (R-Texas), member of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee, issued the following statement after the committee passed S. Res. 188, which encourages a swift and peaceful transfer of power in Sudan and calls on the United States government to halt efforts to weaken pressure on Sudan until such a transfer occurs.

"The committee's passage of this resolution sends a message of solidarity to the people of Sudan who are determined to advance a civilian-led transition period and pursue legitimate elections overseen by credible international observers," Sen. Cruz said. "I am hopeful the full Senate quickly passes our resolution so we can increase the pressure on Sudan's rulers, encourage our international partners to rally to restore democracy in Sudan, and ensure a swift transfer of power by the military to a civilian-led political authority occurs."

S. Res. 188, led by Sens. Cruz (R-Texas) and Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), is cosponsored by Chairman James Risch (R-Idaho), Sens. Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Johnny Isakson (R-Ga.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Kamala Harris (D-Calif.), Todd Young (R-Ind.), Chris Coons (D-Del.), Pat Roberts (R-Kan.), Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Josh Hawley (R-Mo.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), Tina Smith (D-Minn.), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wisc.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), and Rob Wyden (D-Ore.).




Central TX

(512) 916-5834
300 E 8th
Suite 961
Austin, TX 78701


North TX

(214) 599-8749
Lee Park Tower II
3626 N. Hall St.
Suite 410
Dallas, TX 75219

Southeast TX

(713) 718-3057
The Mickey Leland Federal Building
1919 Smith Street
Suite 9047
Houston, TX 77002


South/Cen. TX

(210) 340-2885
9901 IH-10W
Suite 950
San Antonio, TX 78230

East TX

(903) 593-5130
305 S. Broadway
Suite 501
Tyler, TX 75702

South TX

(956) 686-7339
200 S. 10th St
Suite 1603
McAllen, TX 78501

West TX


Washington, D.C.

(202) 224-5922
127A Russell
Washington, DC 20510

Generated in 0.106 seconds.