Skip to content

Sens. Cruz, Inhofe, Lankford Introduce Legislation to Designate Route 66 a National Historic Trail

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Sens. Jim Inhofe (R-Okla.), James Lankford (R-Okla.) and Ted Cruz (R-Texas) introduced S. 5170, which would amend the National Trails System Act to designate Route 66 as a National Historic Trail. Importantly, this legislation incorporates safeguards to ensures no future potential harm to energy development projects occur as a result of the designation.

Route 66, also known as the Will Rogers Highway, is more than 2,400 miles long, stretching from Chicago, Illinois to Santa Monica, California, and crossing through eight states, including Texas. 

Sen. Cruz said:

The great state of Texas is proud to be home to part of the iconic Route 66 and I am proud to work with Senator Inhofe to designate this highway as a historic trail. Adding this designation will ensure not only that this highway’s impact is fully recognized, but will also safeguard the U.S. energy industry, which is vitally important to Texas.”


Related Issues

  1. Energy and Environment