Skip to content

Sens. Cruz, Cornyn, Rosen Lead Resolution Condemning Antisemitic Attack on Congregation Beth Israel in Texas

WASHINGTON D.C. — Today, Senator Ted Cruz (R-TX) led and passed a bipartisan resolution to condemn the horrific antisemitic terrorist attack on Congregation Beth Israel on January 15th, 2022. Senator Cruz was joined by 55 of his colleagues from both sides of the aisle. In part, the resolution:

“…condemns antisemitism in the United States, and around the world; and reaffirms the commitment of the United States to condemn antisemitism in all its forms; to protect the right of the people of the United States to freely exercise their religious beliefs, and ensure the safety and security of all people of the United States.”

Senator Cruz added the following statement this afternoon:

“This resolution sends a clear message against antisemitic hatred and violence to those who seek to target Jews and Jewish communities in Texas, in America, and around the world. It honors the selfless service and bravery of our law enforcement officials who responded to this terrorist attack, and highlights that the United States can and will use every measure to ensure that our citizens enjoy the freedom of worship and religion free from the sort of horrific and cowardly violence we witnessed in Colleyville.”

Senator Cornyn issued the following statement as the resolution passed:

“What happened in Colleyville was no less than an anti-Semitic act of terror, and I’m grateful for the courage of Rabbi Charlie Cytron-Walker as well as the law enforcement who responded,” said Sen. Cornyn. “No one of any religion should fear practicing their faith, be it at a synagogue like Congregation Beth Israel or any other house of worship.”

Senator Rosen additionally stated:

“This horrifying attack against yet another Jewish congregation was a sad reminder about growing antisemitic violence and hate, and it’s our responsibility to speak out and take action against these troubling incidents,” said Senator Rosen. “That’s why I was proud to join my colleagues from Texas in helping to lead dozens of Senators from both parties to introduce this overwhelmingly bipartisan resolution, and see the Senate speak with one voice to strongly condemn the attack in Colleyville and call for action to combat antisemitism. We are joining together to denounce the alarming rise in antisemitism in the United States and around the world, and to recognize the first responders whose skill and bravery helped get everyone out safely.”

Anti-Defamation League CEO Jonathan Greenblatt added:

“The recent terrorist attack targeting Congregation Beth Israel in Colleyville, Texas, is a painful reminder that the historically high level of antisemitism in the United States continues to pose a serious threat to the Jewish community. In the wake of this horrific incident, Congress must take a stand and do everything in its power to protect the Jewish community and all faith communities from hate-based violence. ADL is grateful to Senators Cruz, Cornyn, and Rosen for their leadership in displaying solidarity with the community in Colleyville, reaffirming the commitment of the United States to condemn antisemitism in all of its forms, and protecting the right to freely exercise a person’s religious beliefs in safety and security.”

Shalom Austin, The Jewish Federation of Greater Dallas and its Jewish Community Relations Council, Jewish El Paso, The Jewish Federation of Fort Worth and Tarrant County, Jewish Federation of Greater Houston, and the Jewish Federation of San Antonio added in a joint statement:

“All of the Jewish Federations in the State of Texas thank Senator Cruz and Senator Cornyn for their leadership in condemning the antisemitic attack in Colleyville, and for their support of the Jewish community as we work to ensure the safety and security of all in our communities. We are grateful for their efforts to combat antisemitism.”

The Conference of Presidents of Major American Jewish Organizations added:

“We greatly appreciate and strongly support the bipartisan resolution to condemn all forms of antisemitism put forward today by Senators Ted Cruz (R-TX), Jacky Rosen (D-NV), and John Cornyn (R-TX). In the wake of the despicable, antisemitic attack against Congregation Beth Israel in Colleyville, TX, the latest in a series of attacks against the Jewish community, it is critical that Congress stands against hate and antisemitism in all its manifestations and reaffirms the fundamental right of all citizens to worship in peace. As it is essential to first define antisemitism in order to combat it whenever and wherever it may appear, the resolution rightly notes that the International Holocaust Remembrance Alliance (IHRA) Working Definition of Antisemitism is an essential tool to identify the many contemporary forms of antisemitism. We are particularly grateful that the resolution commends the Nonprofit Security Grant Program, which has enabled our partner organizations, including the Secure Community Network, to continue its essential work of protecting Jewish communal institutions across the country. Expanding these and similar programs will save lives and remains an integral part of our mission as the organizing body of the American Jewish community.”

The full slate of co-sponsors for the Cruz-Cornyn-Rosen resolution include: Ted Cruz (R-TX), John Cornyn (R-TX), Jacky Rosen (D-NV), Chuck Grassley (R-IA), James Risch (R-ID), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), John Boozman (R-AR), Bill Hagerty (R-TN), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Rick Scott (R-FL), Dan Sullivan (R-AK), Josh Hawley (R-MO), Todd Young (R-IN), John Hoeven (R-ND), James Inhofe (R-OK), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Roy Blunt (R-MO), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Mitt Romney (R-UT), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Mike Braun (R-IN), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Tom Cotton (R-AR), Lindsey Graham (R-SC), Roger Marshall (R-KS), Deb Fischer (R-NE), Thom Tillis (R-NC), Bill Cassidy (R-LA), Richard Burr (R-NC), Susan Collins (R-ME), John Kennedy (R-LA), James Lankford (R-OK), Rob Portman (R-OH), Ron Johnson (R-WI), Tim Scott (R-SC), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV), John Hickenlooper (D-CO), Michael Bennet (D-CO), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Raphael Warnock (D-GA), Angus King (I-ME), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY), Chris Coons (D-DE), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), John Ossoff (D-GA), Cory Booker (D-NJ), Mark Kelly (D-AZ), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Mark Warner (D-VA) and Richard Blumenthal (D-CT).


A full copy of the resolution can be found HERE.