Skip to content

Sen. Cruz: ‘Immensely Proud of Bipartisan Push to Secure Presidential Permits’ for Texas Bridges

WASHINGTON, DC –Sen. Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Ranking Member on the Senate Commerce, Science, and Transportation Committee, today issued the following statement after President Biden issued presidential permits for new and expanded bridges in Eagle Pass, Laredo, and Brownsville, as a result of a bicameral, bipartisan legislative effort to streamline the process led by Sen. Cruz.

The permits were granted for the World Trade Bridge (Laredo), the Puerto Verde Global Trade Bridge (Eagle Pass, Maverick County), and the Flor de Mayo Bridge (Brownsville, Cameron County). Sen. Cruz said, “I am immensely proud of our bipartisan, bicameral legislative push to secure presidential permits for these vital projects. The bridges were being needlessly held up, and ending the delays will provide immeasurable benefits to the communities of Eagle Pass, Laredo, and Brownsville, as well as for farmers, ranchers, manufacturers, and small businesses across Texas. Indeed, these bridges will facilitate the movement of goods and strengthen US-Mexico supply chains, producing lower prices for millions of American consumers. I am grateful to my fellow colleagues for their hard work and dedication to protecting the economic interests of the Lone Star State and the United States, and to keeping Texas the nation’s leader in job creation.”

Last year, Sen. Cruz authored and secured into law a provision in National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA) for Fiscal Year 2024 streamline the presidential permitting process for new and expanded bridges across the Rio Grande in Webb, Cameron, and Maverick Counties. The language required the State Department submit for approval and White House to approve or deny the permits for these projects in 60 days respectively. Sen. Cruz was joined by Sen. John Cornyn (R-Texas), and Reps. Henry Cuellar (D-Texas), Vicente Gonzalez (D-Texas), Monica de la Cruz (R-Texas), Joaquin Castro (D-Texas), and Tony Gonzales (R-Texas).