Skip to content

Sen. Cruz Applauds President Trump’s Approval of Disaster Declaration For Central Texas Counties

‘I am pleased President Trump today approved federal disaster support for Texas’

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz (R-Texas) issued the following statement applauding yesterday’s announcement that President Trump granted a federal disaster declaration for 33 Texas counties following severe weather and flooding that occurred in the fall of 2018. 

“I am pleased President Trump approved federal disaster support for these impacted Texas counties,” Sen. Cruz said. “I witnessed the damage from the unprecedented flooding throughout Central Texas firsthand, and last November, Senator Cornyn and I wrote to President Trump urging him to grant Governor Abbott’s disaster declaration request. This federal support will help Texans recover and rebuild following last year’s devastating storms.”

Immediately following the flooding, in October Sen. Cruz visited Burnet and Llano County areas to survey flood damage and receive briefings with local officials. In November, Sens. Cruz and John Cornyn (R-Texas) penned a letter to President Trump urging for Governor Abbott’s request for federal disaster assistance. Read their full letter to President Trump here

The following counties were included in the Federal Disaster Declaration:

Archer, Baylor, Brown, Burnet, Callahan, Comanche, Coryell, Dimmit, Edwards, Fannin, Franklin, Grimes, Haskell, Hill, Hopkins, Houston, Jones, Kimble, Kinney, Knox, Llano, Madison, Mason, McCulloch, Menard, Nolan, Real, San Saba, Sutton, Throckmorton, Travis, Uvalde, and Val Verde Counties.


Related Issues

  1. Natural Disasters