Skip to Content

Sens. Cruz, Peters Bipartisan Bill to Protect Apollo Landing Sites Advances out of Committee

July 10, 2019



WASHINGTON, D.C. - U.S. Sens. Ted Cruz (R-Texas) and Gary Peters (D-Mich.) today applauded the Senate Committee on Commerce, Science and Transportation's unanimous vote in support of their bipartisan bill that would protect the Apollo landing sites on the moon. The One Small Step to Protect Human Heritage in Space Act would provide legal recognition and protection for the Apollo sites and artifacts from intentional and unintentional disturbances from future missions. The bill's advancement to the full Senate comes ahead of the 50th anniversary of the Apollo 11 landing on July 20th.

"Senator Peters and I are proud to see our legislation advance through the committee today with overwhelming bipartisan support as we approach the 50th anniversary of the Apollo 11 Moon landing," Sen. Cruz said. "Our bill will put into place meaningful protections for the Apollo sites and artifacts by requiring recipients of U.S. government licenses for lunar and near-lunar activities to agree to abide by NASA's recommendations on how to protect and preserve lunar artifacts. I urge my Senate colleagues to take up and pass this commonsense bill without delay to ensure that, as we ramp up our efforts to return to the Moon, these important parts of history are safeguarded."

"The Apollo landing sites are the types of historic places that would be preserved for future generations if they were on Earth. As we mark the 50th anniversary of this giant leap for humankind, we must do everything we can to protecting these sites - particularly as more public and private entities look to establish a presence on the moon," said Senator Peters, a member of the Senate Subcommittee on Space and Aviation. "This bipartisan legislation will help preserve our human heritage in space for generations to come. I'm glad this bill has advanced in the Senate and I'll be continuing to build support behind this effort."

The legislation includes an enforcement mechanism to impose fines on entities that breach NASA's preservation recommendations, and honors over 400,000 scientists, designers, and researchers who contributed to the Apollo programs.

Watch Sen. Cruz's full remarks following the committee's passage of his bill here.




Central TX

(512) 916-5834
300 E 8th
Suite 961
Austin, TX 78701


North TX

(214) 599-8749
Lee Park Tower II
3626 N. Hall St.
Suite 410
Dallas, TX 75219

Southeast TX

(713) 718-3057
The Mickey Leland Federal Building
1919 Smith Street
Suite 9047
Houston, TX 77002


South/Cen. TX

(210) 340-2885
9901 IH-10W
Suite 950
San Antonio, TX 78230

East TX

(903) 593-5130
305 S. Broadway
Suite 501
Tyler, TX 75702

South TX

(956) 686-7339
200 S. 10th St
Suite 1603
McAllen, TX 78501

West TX


Washington, D.C.

(202) 224-5922
127A Russell
Washington, DC 20510

Generated in 0.041 seconds.