Skip to Content

Sens. Cruz, Warren Introduce Bipartisan Resolution Honoring Service of Military Retirees

March 14, 2019



WASHINGTON, D.C. - U.S. Sens. Ted Cruz (R-Texas) and Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.) today introduced a bipartisan resolution designating April 18, 2019 as "Military Retiree Appreciation Day" to commemorate the life-long service of military retirees. The resolution encourages Americans to honor the past and continued service of the approximately 2 million retired service members across the United States.

"The selfless service of our Soldiers, Sailors, Airmen, Marines, and Coastguardsmen has secured America's place in the world as a beacon of freedom," Sen. Cruz said. "Our servicemen and women dedicate their lives to the advancement of freedom and protection of the homeland. This commitment often continues after their time in uniform. In honor of their lifetime of service, I'm glad to once again join with Sen. Warren to set aside this day in honor of our retired servicemen and women."

"I am honored to be the sister of three military veterans and to introduce bipartisan legislation that honors the men and women in uniform who made sacrifices to protect our country," Senator Warren said. "This bill will ensure that our veterans and service members continue to be commemorated for their life-long and continued dedicated service."

Read the full text of the resolution here. Original co-sponsors include Sens. Doug Jones (D-Ala.), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Chris Murphy (D-Conn.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), David Perdue (R-Ga.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii), Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), Todd Young (R-Ind.), Mark Warner (D-Va.), Josh Hawley (R-Mo.), Mike Rounds (R-S.D.), Ed Markey (D-Mass.), and Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska).




Central TX

(512) 916-5834
300 E 8th
Suite 961
Austin, TX 78701


North TX

(214) 599-8749
Lee Park Tower II
3626 N. Hall St.
Suite 410
Dallas, TX 75219

Southeast TX

(713) 718-3057
The Mickey Leland Federal Building
1919 Smith Street
Suite 9047
Houston, TX 77002


South/Cen. TX

(210) 340-2885
9901 IH-10W
Suite 950
San Antonio, TX 78230

East TX

(903) 593-5130
305 S. Broadway
Suite 501
Tyler, TX 75702

South TX

(956) 686-7339
200 S. 10th St
Suite 1603
McAllen, TX 78501

West TX


Washington, D.C.

(202) 224-5922
127A Russell
Washington, DC 20510

Generated in 0.095 seconds.