Skip to Content

Sens. Cruz, Lee, and Rubio Send Letter Supporting Obamacare Repeal Resolution

January 4, 2017



WASHINGTON – U.S. Sens. Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Mike Lee (R-Utah), and Marco Rubio (R-Fla.) sent a letter to Senate Republican leaders Tuesday supporting their efforts to repeal Obamacare within the first weeks of the 115th Congress. The letter reads:

“We understand that this will require first moving a budget resolution for fiscal year 2017 through Congress. While we recognize this budget resolution is primarily a mechanism to advance repeal, it should still contain transparent spending and revenue numbers and include all extant enforcement tools. 

“Prior to consideration of this ‘Obamacare Repeal Resolution,’ we wish to affirm our shared commitment to the following process that will lead to the delivery of the following conservative priorities. 

“First, it is our belief that the 2017 budget resolution must include reconciliation instructions that enable Congress to quickly consider legislation that repeals at least as much of Obamacare as H.R.3762, which President Obama vetoed in December 2015. Indeed, we should try to use the reconciliation process to repeal as many provisions of Obamacare as possible, especially the insurance mandates that are driving up health insurance costs for millions of Americans. 

“Second, we seek your commitment to passing a fiscal year 2018 budget resolution that sets our new, unified Republican federal government on a path to balance in 10 years without the use of budgetary gimmicks or tax increases.  Our votes in favor of the “Obamacare Repeal Resolution” do not indicate in any way our support for the revenue, spending, and deficit numbers therein, nor for the use of those numbers as the basis for future federal budgets. 

“We look forward to working with you this Congress and to delivering on the mandate given to us by the American people to repeal Obamacare and reform the status quo in Washington.”

The letter was addressed to Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.), Majority Whip John Cornyn (R-Texas), and Budget Committee Chairman Mike Enzi (R-Wyo.) and can be read in its entirety here




Central TX

(512) 916-5834
300 E 8th
Suite 961
Austin, TX 78701


North TX

(214) 599-8749
Lee Park Tower II
3626 N. Hall St.
Suite 410
Dallas, TX 75219

Southeast TX

(713) 718-3057
The Mickey Leland Federal Building
1919 Smith Street
Suite 9047
Houston, TX 77002


South/Cen. TX

(210) 340-2885
9901 IH-10W
Suite 950
San Antonio, TX 78230

East TX

(903) 593-5130
305 S. Broadway
Suite 501
Tyler, TX 75702

South TX

(956) 686-7339
200 S. 10th St
Suite 1603
McAllen, TX 78501

West TX


Washington, D.C.

(202) 224-5922
127A Russell
Washington, DC 20510

Generated in 0.157 seconds.