Skip to Content

Sen. Cruz Issues Statement on the US Treasury Department Sanctioning Nicaraguan Officials

‘The United States must remain committed to holding the regime accountable’

June 9, 2021



WASHINGTON, D.C. - U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz (R-Texas), a Senate Foreign Relations Committee member, released the following statement in response to the U.S. Department of the Treasury's Office of Foreign Assets Control sanctioning of four Nicaraguan officials. Today's sanctions are against individuals involved in human rights abuses and ongoing repression of civil society under the Ortega regime:

"The Biden administration did the right thing sanctioning these figures, who have contributed to the Ortega regime's campaign to dismantle democratic institutions, pass sweeping laws to strip citizens of their rights, criminalize the opposition, and imprison presidential challengers. The breadth of officials sanctioned today is a testament to the systematic nature of these anti-democratic crackdowns, and the United States must remain committed to holding the regime accountable."

The individuals sanctioned today are Camila Antonia Ortega Murillo, the Coordinator of the Creative Economy Commission and daughter of Nicaraguan President Daniel Ortega; Leonardo Ovidio Reyes Ramirez, President of the Central Bank of Nicaragua (BCN); Edwin Ramon Castro Rivera, a deputy of the Nicaraguan National Assembly (NNA); and Julio Modesto Rodriguez Balladares, a Brigadier General of the Nicaraguan Army and Executive Director of the Military Social Welfare Institute (IPSM).




Central TX

(512) 916-5834
300 E 8th
Suite 961
Austin, TX 78701


North TX

(214) 599-8749
Lee Park Tower II
3626 N. Hall St.
Suite 410
Dallas, TX 75219

Southeast TX

(713) 718-3057
The Mickey Leland Federal Building
1919 Smith Street
Suite 9047
Houston, TX 77002


South/Cen. TX

(210) 340-2885
9901 IH-10W
Suite 950
San Antonio, TX 78230

East TX

(903) 593-5130
305 S. Broadway
Suite 501
Tyler, TX 75702

South TX

(956) 686-7339
200 S. 10th St
Suite 1603
McAllen, TX 78501

West TX


Washington, D.C.

(202) 224-5922
127A Russell
Washington, DC 20510

Generated in 0.206 seconds.