Skip to Content

Sen. Cruz Issues Statement on USDA Disaster Designation of Rio Grande Valley Counties

Applauds USDA for granting his request for assistance to counties devastated by Hurricane Hanna

November 2, 2020



HOUSTON, Texas – U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz (R-Texas) today issued the following statement applauding the United States Department of Agriculture’s (USDA) designation of six Texas counties – Cameron, Hidalgo, Willacy, Brooks, Kenedy, and Starr – as disaster areas due to the severe weather caused by Hurricane Hanna:

“I am grateful that Secretary Perdue and the USDA has granted the emergency request Sen. Cornyn and I issued in August. The devastation and property damage in these South Texas counties from Hurricane Hanna go well beyond the capabilities of the state and local governments, and due to the disruptions caused by the COVID-19 pandemic, this federal assistance is greatly needed to help these areas recover. Under this disaster designation, these six counties will now be eligible for emergency farm loans from the Farm Service Agency. This much needed assistance will help local farmers build back stronger in the face of extensive production loss resulting from these natural disasters.”


In August, Sens. Cruz and John Cornyn (R-Texas) sent a letter to Secretary Sonny Perdue requesting the USDA designate eight Texas counties – Brooks, Cameron, Hidalgo, Jim Hogg, Kenedy, Starr, Willacy, and Zapata – as disaster areas following the devastation from Hurricane Hanna.



Central TX

(512) 916-5834
300 E 8th
Suite 961
Austin, TX 78701


North TX

(214) 599-8749
Lee Park Tower II
3626 N. Hall St.
Suite 410
Dallas, TX 75219

Southeast TX

(713) 718-3057
The Mickey Leland Federal Building
1919 Smith Street
Suite 9047
Houston, TX 77002


South/Cen. TX

(210) 340-2885
9901 IH-10W
Suite 950
San Antonio, TX 78230

East TX

(903) 593-5130
305 S. Broadway
Suite 501
Tyler, TX 75702

South TX

(956) 686-7339
200 S. 10th St
Suite 1603
McAllen, TX 78501

West TX


Washington, D.C.

(202) 224-5922
127A Russell
Washington, DC 20510

Generated in 0.05 seconds.