Skip to Content

Senate Commerce Committee Selects Sen. Cruz to be Chairman of Subcommittee on Aviation and Space

January 16, 2019



WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz (R-Texas), a member of the U.S. Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation has been selected to serve as the chairman of the newly created Subcommittee on Aviation and Space for the 116th Congress. Today, the Senate Commerce Committee held an executive session and approved Sen. Cruz’s chairmanship and the jurisdiction of the new subcommittee. The Subcommittee on Aviation and Space will have jurisdiction of the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA), National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), the National Space Council, as well as the Department of Commerce and the Department of Transportation as it pertains to civil aviation and civil space policy. As chairman, Sen. Cruz will continue to lead on issues involving America’s leadership in space and evolving technologies that impact Texas’ space community while representing Texan’s interests in aviation issues. Sen. Cruz previously served as chairman of the Subcommittee on Space, Science, and Competitiveness during the 114th and 115th Congress.

“I am honored to have the opportunity to continue to represent Texas’ space and aviation communities as chairman of this new subcommittee,” Sen. Cruz said. “Over the past four years, I worked hard to secure bipartisan victories for NASA and the U.S. commercial space industry. I look forward to continuing this progress in the 116th Congress by expanding the focus of the subcommittee to include everything that operates above the ground. I am committed to ensuring that the United States is a global leader with vibrant and growing aviation and space industries that are able to compete on the world stage and in the new frontiers of space.”

In addition to serving on the U.S. Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation, Sen. Cruz will continue to serve on the Senate Committee on the Judiciary, the Committee on Rules and Administration, and the Joint Economic Committee. Additionally, he has been named to the Committee on Foreign Relations.



Central TX

(512) 916-5834
300 E 8th
Suite 961
Austin, TX 78701


North TX

(214) 599-8749
Lee Park Tower II
3626 N. Hall St.
Suite 410
Dallas, TX 75219

Southeast TX

(713) 718-3057
The Mickey Leland Federal Building
1919 Smith Street
Suite 9047
Houston, TX 77002


South/Cen. TX

(210) 340-2885
9901 IH-10W
Suite 950
San Antonio, TX 78230

East TX

(903) 593-5130
305 S. Broadway
Suite 501
Tyler, TX 75702

South TX

(956) 686-7339
200 S. 10th St
Suite 1603
McAllen, TX 78501

West TX


Washington, D.C.

(202) 224-5922
127A Russell
Washington, DC 20510

Generated in 0.126 seconds.