Skip to Content

Sens. Cruz, Cornyn, Rep. Cuellar Bill to Rename Mission Post Office to Become Law

November 16, 2018



WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Sens. Ted Cruz (R-Texas), John Cornyn (R-Texas) and U.S. Rep. Henry Cuellar (D-Texas) released the following statements after their bill to rename the U.S. Postal Office in Mission, Texas as the “Mission Veterans Post Office Building” passed the U.S. Senate:

“I am pleased to see Congress come together and recognize the contributions of Texas veterans,” Sen. Cruz said. “Naming the U.S. Postal Office in Mission as the ‘Mission Veterans Post Office Building’ will serve as a lasting tribute to the brave men and women who have answered the call to defend our country and the freedoms we hold dear, and I look forward to seeing President Trump swiftly sign this measure into law.”

“Renaming the post office in Mission is a fitting tribute to the many Texans who have served our nation,” said Sen. Cornyn.  “With its new name, the Mission Veterans Post Office Building will reflect Mission’s existing culture of gratitude towards those who have worn the uniform of the U.S. Armed Forces.”

“In naming this building, I wanted to make sure that people understood that we are dedicating this post office to the veterans as a reminder for their sacrifices,” Congressman Cuellar said. “A great example would be Captain Joaquin Castro of Mission, Texas, who was stationed at Hickam Field in Hawaii during the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor. Captain Castro served several missions against enemy forces before being declared ‘missing in action’ during a bombing mission. We owe our freedoms to the sacrifices of brave individuals like Captain Castro, which is why I am recognizing him, and honoring all veterans, with the dedication of this federal building.  I would like to thank Senators Cornyn and Cruz for passing this bill in the Senate and for helping solidify a lasting testament for those who have given so much to this country."

This bill passed the House on March 5, 2018.  It will now head to the President’s desk for his signature.



Central TX

(512) 916-5834
300 E 8th
Suite 961
Austin, TX 78701


North TX

(214) 599-8749
Lee Park Tower II
3626 N. Hall St.
Suite 410
Dallas, TX 75219

Southeast TX

(713) 718-3057
The Mickey Leland Federal Building
1919 Smith Street
Suite 9047
Houston, TX 77002


South/Cen. TX

(210) 340-2885
9901 IH-10W
Suite 950
San Antonio, TX 78230

East TX

(903) 593-5130
305 S. Broadway
Suite 501
Tyler, TX 75702

South TX

(956) 686-7339
200 S. 10th St
Suite 1603
McAllen, TX 78501

West TX


Washington, D.C.

(202) 224-5922
127A Russell
Washington, DC 20510

Generated in 0.09 seconds.