Skip to Content

Sens. Cruz, Cornyn Statements on New Armored Brigade Combat Team at Fort Bliss

September 20, 2018



HOUSTON, Texas – U.S. Sens. Ted Cruz (R-Texas) and John Cornyn (R-Texas) today released the following statements after Secretary of the Army Mark Esper announced that the Army’s 1st Stryker Brigade Combat Team, 1st Armored Division would be converted from a Stryker Brigade Combat Team to an Armored Brigade Combat Team stationed at Fort Bliss, Texas.

“I am pleased that the Army chose Fort Bliss as the home for the new Armored Brigade Combat Team, which Sen. Cornyn and I have advocated for,” Sen. Cruz said. “The Army’s continued expansion in Texas reinforces the state’s position as a pillar in America’s national security and defense, while creating new opportunities in our state. I look forward to working with the Army to ensure this new Armored Brigade and the entire 1st Armored Division are ready to deter adversaries, promote peace, and project American strength.”

“This conversion makes Texas the world leader for armored units,” said Sen. Cornyn. “Fort Bliss and Fort Hood are our nation’s only Mobilization Force Generating Installations, and so Fort Bliss is well-equipped for the rapid deployment and redeployment of our Armed Forces. El Paso will serve as a capable host to this new unit, and I welcome this influx of resources for our soldiers at Fort Bliss.”

In April, Sens. Cruz and Cornyn sent a letter to the Sec. Esper requesting the conversion and that it be located in Texas.



Central TX

(512) 916-5834
300 E 8th
Suite 961
Austin, TX 78701


North TX

(214) 599-8749
Lee Park Tower II
3626 N. Hall St.
Suite 410
Dallas, TX 75219

Southeast TX

(713) 718-3057
The Mickey Leland Federal Building
1919 Smith Street
Suite 9047
Houston, TX 77002


South/Cen. TX

(210) 340-2885
9901 IH-10W
Suite 950
San Antonio, TX 78230

East TX

(903) 593-5130
305 S. Broadway
Suite 501
Tyler, TX 75702

South TX

(956) 686-7339
200 S. 10th St
Suite 1603
McAllen, TX 78501

West TX


Washington, D.C.

(202) 224-5922
127A Russell
Washington, DC 20510

Generated in 0.113 seconds.